Sweetness

madhuri and madhurya are synonymous words. madhuryam asamordhvataya sarva manoharam svabhavika rupa guna liladi saushthavam (Sri Jiva Gosvami):

“Sweetness means natural all-enchanting and lovely forms, qualities and pastimes that have no equal and no superior.”

Vrajendranandana Himself is the great ocean of enchanting forms, qualities and pastimes, but even He is enchanted by Sri Radha’s lovely forms, qualities and pastimes, so much so that He even faints, although He is an ocean of bliss personified.

He experienced it Himself that Sri Radha’s forms and attributes are superior to His –

ama hoite guni bodo jagate asambhava; ekali radhate taha kori anubhava
koti kama jini rupa yadyapi amara; asamordhva madhurya samya nahi yara…………………
mora rupe apyayita hoy tribhuvana; radhara darsane mora judaya nayana
mora vamsi-gite akarshaye tribhuvana; radhara vacana hare amara sravana
yadyapi amara gandha jagata sugandha; mora citta prana hare radha anga gandha
yadyapi amara rase jagata sarasa; radhara adhara rasa ama kore vasa
yadyapi amara sparsa kotindu sitala; radhikara sparse ama kore susitala
ei mata jagatera sukha ami hetu; radhikara rupa guna amara jivatu
(Caitanya Caritamrita Adi Chapter 4)

“It is impossible for anyone in this world to be more qualified than Me. I only experience that in Radha. Although My form defeats millions of Cupids and there is no peer to My sweetness, and although My form pleases the three worlds, seeing Radha soothes My eyes. The song of My flute attracts the three worlds, but Radha’s words steal My ears. Although My odour scents the whole world, Radha’s bodily fragrance steals My heart and consciousness. Atlhough My taste sweetens the whole world the taste of Radha’s lips subdue Me. Although My touch is cooler than millions of moons, Radhika’s touch cools Me off. In this way I am the source of happiness for the world, but Radhika’s form and qualities are My very life”

When Sri Bilvamangala Thakura realized the sweetness of Krishna in Vraja, he wondered: madhuryam eva nu “Is this sweetness itself?” But when Krishna saw Sri Radha on the bank of Radhakunda, He said: sakshat va kim u madhuri tanumati, “Is She sweetness becoming embodied?”

– Srila Ananta das Babaji