Snippets of nectar

Śrīmat Dāsa Gosvāmī described in his ‘Muktā Caritra’ how Kṛṣṇa anxiously lamented about Śrī Rādhā’s absence to His own Queen Satyabhāmā in Dvārakā after describing His Vraja-līlā to her:

mad vaksaḥ sthala campakāvalir iyam man netra padma dvayī saudhā siktir iyaṁ mad eka vilasat sarvāṅga lakṣmīr iyam mat prāṇoru vihaṅga vallarir iyam mat kāmita śrīr iyaṁ maj jīvātur iyaṁ mayā punar aho hā hā kadā lapsyate

“O! Alas! When will I again attain that Rādhā, who is like Campaka-flowers on My chest, who showers My lotus-like eyes with nectar, whose bodily beauty is the only place for My pastimes, who is like a vine for the bird of My heart to sit on, who is My desired opulence and My very life?”

Even a stone will melt after hearing how pitifully Kṛṣṇa lamented to Himself about Śrī Rādhā after He drank the sweet nectar-words of Madhumaṅgala and thus remembered Her:

hā mat prāṇa kapota vāsa baḍabhī prema sphuran mādhurī dhārāpāra sarid vare guṇakalā narma prahelī khane hā man netra cakora poṣaka vidhu jyotsnā taṭe rādhike hā hā mad duritena kena nidhivat prāptā karāt tvaṁ cyutā

“Hā Rādhe! You are the abode for the pigeon of My life, a boundless river with a stream of sweetness that is enhanced by prema, and a mine of jokes, riddles, qualities and arts! You are the moonlight that feeds the Cakora-bird of My eyes! Alas! Alas! Which force of bad luck has taken Me away from You after first finding You?”

In the same way the kiṅkarīs have no other shelter but Śrīmatī’s lotus feet, from whom the embodiment of full transcendental bliss, Śrī Kṛṣṇa, suffers so much separation, and there is no other means to soothe their hearts, that are burning in the fire of separation from Her, then to see these beautiful feet. The kiṅkarīs don’t want Kṛṣṇa alone. Their love for Śrīmatī is so pure that even in their dreams they don’t desire Kṛṣṇa’s intimate company. One of the 108 names that our Dāsa Gosvāmī gives to Śrī Rādhikā is svagaṇādvaita jīvātu svīyāhaṅkāra vardhinī  – “She is the only life-support of Her maidservants, and this increases their pride.”

These maidservants have such a deep love for Śrī Rādhā; they do not even have that for Kṛṣṇa! No one but the kiṅkarīs are so worthy of being Rādhikā’s priya-pātra (object of love). This is experienced best at the time of separation. By Svāminī’s grace the virahinī dāsī has wonderful experiences during smaraṇa, dreams and sphuraṇa (transcendental revelations), and these experiences are her only life-support.

A revelation gives temporary peace, and separation gives a burning suffering. The root cause of this suffering is want of the direct service of the Yugala Kiśora. The mañjarīs’ love for Kiśora and Kiśorī is causeless.
Where is the bliss of worshipping only Kṛṣṇa? The real ecstasy lies in the Yugala bhajan! yugala caraṇa dekhi, saphala koribo āṅkhi, ei mora manera kāmanā (Prārthanā) – “I will make my eyes successful by seeing the Yugala’s lotus feet; this is the desire on my mind!”

The Gauḍīya Vaiṣṇava Ācāryas (mahā-janas) desire to see the Divine Couple to extinguish the burning fire of their love-in-separation, and they pray for the service of Their lotus feet:

nija pada sevā dibā, nāhi more upekhibā, duhu pahu karuṇā sāgara duhu vinā nāhi jāno, ei boḍo bhāgya māno, mui boḍo patita pāmara

“Please give me the service of Your lotus feet! Don’t let me down! You are both oceans of compassion! I don’t know anyone else but You two, and I would feel greatly fortunate if I could surrender to the service of Your lotus feet! I am a very deeply fallen wretch!

mallikā mālatī yūthī, nānā phule mālā gāṅthi, kobe dibo doṅhāra galāya sonāra kaṭorā kori, karpūra candana bhari, kobe dibo doṅhākāra gāya āra kobe emon hobo, duhu mukha nirakhibo, līlā rasa nikuñja śayane

“When can I string garlands of Mallikā-, Mālatī-, Yūthī- and different other flowers, and hang them around Their necks? When will I fill up a golden goblet with camphor and sandalwood-pulp and anoint Their bodies with these unguents? O, when can I see Their faces as They lie on a rasika playbed in the nikuñja?”
{Prārthanā}

The mañjarīs never want just Kṛṣṇa. They don’t even think of Kṛṣṇa’s bodily association in their dreams! When Kṛṣṇa pulls at Śrī Rūpa Mañjarī’s bodice, she hisses like a trampled-down snake, saying: “Shame on You! Don’t You know who I am? I can give my life to You, but not my body! This body I have offered to Śrī Rādhā!” Then Lāljī will beg forgiveness with folded hands. No one but the kiṅkarīs can be so loyal to Śrī Rādhā!

Radhakund Mahanta Sri Srimat Ananta das Babaji, tika to Vilapa Kusumanjali